God is peace, love, and mercy.

 It is impossible to be angry in the presence of the Lord.

At least, for me it is.  My church is blessed enough to have a perpetual adoration chapel.  As I was walking through the parking lot last night towards the chapel, I was filled with anger, hate, and embarrassment.  I actually thought to myself, ‘How can I go before the Lord in such a state?’

The answer is, I can’t.  The minute I enter that chapel and see the Lord in front of me – the moment I kneel before Him, take a deep breath, and say hello, is the same moment all my anger flees entirely.  I was taught once that anger is a secondary emotion, and that it always exists to cover over something else.  In this case, my anger was caused by frustration, embarrassment, and a host of other smaller things.  These emotions aren’t nice things to feel, no.  But once the anger is gone, we can think more rationally about the situation, and we can examine ourselves freely and honestly.  Only through that examination can any progress be made.

God has been kind and gentle with me.  He led me to His Son, knowing that once there I would be able to come to terms with my emotions and find peace in the Lord.  Because that is what our Lord is.  He is peace.  He is love, and He is mercy.  No matter what wrong I had before I entered those doors tonight, I was forgiven.  No matter how upset I was ten minutes before hand, by the time I finished praying, I was at peace.  And I know, with such a firm conviction, that even though I might feel unloved sometimes by those around me, that the He loves me more than I can ever understand, and nothing I do will ever change that.

I cannot deny the power and peace that comes from just thirty minutes of quiet time with the Lord.  No matter what turmoil we are experiencing, we must take the time to be still and quiet.  It may be the last thing we want to do, but it is the only way to overcome our emotions and our pride.  It is the only way to hear God and be reminded that everything will be okay.

God is Peace.  God is Love.  God is Mercy.

 

Have a beautiful Monday and a blessed week.

One thought on “God is peace, love, and mercy.

Leave a Reply

